HAVE YOU BEEN INJURED AT WORK? YOU HAVE RIGHTS.
IF YOU ARE INJURED ON THE JOB:
1) Report the incident to your employer as soon as possible. Your employer is required to file an insurance claim related to the incident.
If you do not report your injuries to your employer within 30 days, your claim may be denied.
2) Document the incident and ensuing injury or complications in as much detail as possible. Photographs, written reports,medical bills, etc.
3) Contact a Worker’s Compensation Attorney
In the state of Florida, your employer is required to cover any injuries sustained on the premises through their insurance. Workers comp insurance is mandatory for any Florida business with more than four employees. It provides compensation to employees hurt by work related injuries, and protects employers from lawsuits.
Some of the benefits include providing assistance with medical bills, lost wages, the cost of traveling to doctors appointments, and even medical prescriptions. You are
also eligible to receive workers comp if your spouse is killed in a workplace accident
There is a statute of limitations on these cases so it’s important to speak with a lawyer as soon as you realize your injuries may be related to your job.
According to the Florida department of financial services, there were over 50,000 claims worker’s comp claims filed in 2019 and the average settlement for worker’s comp cases in 2019 was around $14,000.
Minnesota law requires all employers to purchase workers’ compensation insurance or become self-insured. If you are injured at work in Minnesota you should document the injury and report it to your employer as soon as possible, there is a statute of limitations on reporting injuries if you want to claim worker’s comp.